Stay positive because life is beautiful…

When I took this picture, I was zooming down a pot-holed street in Livingstone, Zambia, perching precariously on a bench which had been nailed to the bed of a pick-up truck. Another vehicle had just passed in front of this wall which meant that I was unable to capture the whole mural. However, I like this ‘imperfection’; it highlights the speed in which I snapped it and shows the mural’s context. But for me, the beauty in this photo lies in the message which reads: ‘Stay positive because life is beautiful.’ I believe that this was painted by youths from the determined slogans, ‘We are the future’ and ‘School is cool, stay cool.’ I was inspired by their choices of words – ‘Peace’, ‘Unite’, ‘Faithful’ or ‘Hope’ – as well as the little notes, such as ‘God will never let us down’ or ‘Dream the best.’ Their message speaks to me now and reminds me that no matter what life throws at you, you should stay positive because it is beautiful to be here.

This entry was posted in Culture, Observed, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

