Breaking with the past…

I took this during a visit to Highgate Cemetery in London, which took me completely by surprise – it was so much more widespread than I had expected and so beautiful. Although I walked on the main paths, I also followed many of the untended, muddy tracks. These footpaths, underneath tall green trees and between haphazardly placed gravestones, inspired a melancholy yet mysterious and magical atmosphere. I found this broken cross tombstone standing off one of those paths. It stood proudly amongst the other vine-covered headstones and because it is broken, we are able to see the modern buildings behind it. This background initially seemed incongruous to me with the tranquil and aged air of the cemetery, but it also reminded me of the perseverance of life and that the past, present and future can co-exist peacefully.

This entry was posted in Observed, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

