Soiled candy…

What first brought my attention to this scene, when I originally was walking down the street, was the flowerpot. It stood brokenly abandoned at the base of stone steps, a terracotta home to wiry weeds and spindly roots. Then when I knelt to get a closer look, I noticed the foreign lollipop lying on the rich, damp soil.

That’s one of the things I love about photography – that there is always an element of surprise. When I knelt down, I thought I would be taking a photo of dried stalks, lumpy earth and fractured ceramic. I captured not just those beautiful elements but a glowing pink one that suddenly made the scene more complex and infinitely more interesting. The contrast between both the white stick and the pink candy with the black soil is a beautiful example of a clean, artificial invasion on an intense, natural environment. I wonder if the lollipop fell from a young child’s hand as they skipped along the street or if an unbothered adult placed it there. This photo has an incongruity which inspires me to find more of the unusual scenes we might normally pass by.

Please read TheCuriousCamera copyright notice for full licensing terms and conditions on this image and text.

This entry was posted in Observed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

