Mulishani…

In contrast to Spring Seeds which I previously shared, this photo was taken in all but a matter of seconds in Zambia, Africa. I was leaning out of the windows of a tall, seemingly pieced-together truck as I drove through a small village just outside of Fiwila. As my eyes scanned the brightly coloured market stalls on the dusty sand and I listened to the amalgam of voices, I poised my camera. This seemed like the perfect place to capture local life and, sure enough, I happened to glance upon these two young boys, out on the market street for the day. They excitedly waved hello to me, the ‘mzungu’ in their midst, and I nearly missed the moment as my initial response was to wave back. But the truck was slowed by the crowds of swarming locals who gaped at its lofty height, and I managed to snap the two of them laughing and waving. Their smiles are truly representative of the warm Zambian people who welcomed me into their country and showed me a vibrant, colourful way of life.

‘Mulishani’: Typical greeting of ‘hello, how are you?’ in Bemba language, mostly spoken in Zambia. See link to Wikipedia: [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bemba_language]
‘Mzungu’: African word for ‘foreign person’. [See link to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mzungu]
(No responsibility taken for links external to TheCuriousCamera blog.)

Please read TheCuriousCamera copyright notice for full licensing terms and conditions on this image and text.

This entry was posted in People, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mulishani…

  1. Ethel Blotburg says:

    Spectacular! This photo says so much and i love your writing about wanting to wave. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

